Here Are Some of the New California Traffic Laws for 2019
As 2019 approaches, a number of new road and vehicle-related laws that were approved by California lawmakers are about to go into effect on Jan. 1, 2019. As California car accident attorneys, it is our hope that these new traffic laws enhance safety on our roadways.
Here are some of the new laws that you should be aware of:
- Hit and Run Laws: Felony hit-and-run laws will now include cyclists on bike paths as well. As with motorists, cyclists involved in a collision resulting in injury death to someone else will be required under this law to stop at the scene.
- License plates: Vehicles cannot be driven off dealership lots without a temporary license plate unless it already has issued plates. The goal of this new law is to reduce the number of toll violators and to enhance safety for law enforcement officials.
- Drunk driving: A new law will require repeat DUI offenders and first-time DUI offenders whose violations resulted in injury to install an ignition interlock device for a period ranging from 12 to 48 months. This law also allows those whose license is suspended under the Administrative Per Se law to get a license provided they install an ignition interlock device. They will also receive credit toward their required ignition lock restriction period if they are later convicted of a DUI.
- Scooters: Helmets will no longer be required for motorized scooters for drivers over age 18. Motorized scooters won’t be allowed on a highway with a speed limit greater than 25 mph unless they are being driven on an appropriate bike path.
- Helmets: Those under age 18 not wearing a helmet on a bicycle, scooter, skateboard or skates will get “fix-it” tickets. These are essentially violations that you can correct. So, when you fix the problem, you can get an authorized person to sign the “Certificate of Correction” portion of your ticket. Then, take the proof of correction to the court and pay the dismissal fee before the deadline. The court will then dismiss your case
- Cargo: The Department of Motor Vehicles will include at least one question addressing laws pertaining to driving with an unsafe, unsecured load in at least 20 percent of driver license tests. All vehicle loads must be covered or secured.
- Trash trucks: When approaching or passing a refuse collection vehicle with its amber lights flashing, drivers must move into an adjacent lane if possible and pass at a safe distance.
If you or a loved one has been injured due to a negligent or careless driver, you may be able to seek compensation for your injuries, damages and losses. Please contact an experienced California car accident lawyer to explore your legal rights and options.